The Committee is made up of a chairperson, an industry representative and a consumer representative.


Jocelyn Furlan

Appointed: 19 February 2019

Term expires: 18 February 2025 (final term)

Jocelyn is a non-executive director of Financial Counselling Australia, Perpetual Superannuation Ltd and the Mother’s Day Classic Foundation. She is the Chair of the Board of Strathcona Girls Grammar School. She is also a Principal of Furlan Consulting.

Jocelyn was the Chairperson of the Superannuation Complaints Tribunal for eight years from 2007 until March 2015. Since April 2015 she has provided consulting services, principally in the area of dispute resolution, including to the Commonwealth Bank of Australia’s financial advice remediation programs.

Jocelyn has more than 30 years’ experience in superannuation and remains passionate about empowering Australian consumers in their financial affairs. She holds degrees in both law and commerce, is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) and a member of numerous superannuation industry associations.

Industry representative

Cindy Hansen

Appointed: 1 January 2020

Term expires: 31 December 2025 (final term)

Cindy is the Chief Strategy and Transformation Officer for Qudos Bank and has more than 25 years’ experience in the financial industry, specialising in legal, compliance, governance and strategy in retail banking and consumer finance.

She holds voluntary positions in the mutual and financial services sectors, including as an Elected Councillor for HCF and a Director of the Australian Finance Industry Association (AFIA). She served as a member on the FINSIA Retail and Business Banking Industry Council between 2014 and 2022.

Cindy holds a law degree, a graduate diploma in finance and investment, and is a graduate of the AICD. She is proud to be a signatory to the Banking & Finance Oath.

Consumer Representative

Philip Cullum

Appointed: 29 February 2020

Term expires: 28 February 2026 (final term)

Philip is an experienced regulator and consumer advocate, based in Melbourne. He set up Consumer-wise Consulting, working on strategy, policy, engagement and governance. He is a member of the Boards of the Financial Basics Foundation (Chair), Clean Energy Council and Consumer Action Law Centre.

He is also a member of the expert panel at the financial ombudsman AFCA and chair of the Customer Advisory Panel for the energy networks Powercor, Citipower and United Energy. He is a graduate of the AICD.

He previously worked at the Australian Energy Regulator, the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission and the UK energy regulator Ofgem. In the UK he also held senior roles at three consumer organisations and worked as an associate partner at Accenture. He was a member of advisory committees in financial services, food safety, aviation and water, as well as cross-sectoral bodies advising UK ministers on better regulation.